Orange County Attorneys For Weapons Charges

If you or a loved one is facing a weapons charges in the Orange County area of CA it is imperative to consult experienced legal counsel orange county weapons chargesimmediately.  California is notorious for having some of the most stringent laws in the country pertaining to a firearm and other weapon-related criminal offenses. You can expect a prosecutor to aggressively pursue the harshest penalties available under the law which may include jail or prison time, fines, a permanent firearm ownership ban, probation, and a criminal record.

The weapons defense attorneys at Wohl Criminal Defense have 35 years experience helping clients avoid or reduce the serious consequences of a weapons charge. We will examine all the facts of your case and develop a customized defense strategy. Contact us today at (714) 689-6042 and schedule your free case evaluation to get started.

Common Firearm/Weapons Charges in Orange County

We represent clients accused of a wide-range of state and federal weapons-related criminal offenses, including but not limited to:

  • Possessing a gun (concealed, loaded or with no permit)
  • Possessing a firearm by an ex-felon (concealed, loaded or with no permit)
  • Possessing an assault weapon
  • Possessing a weapon (illegal weapons include knives, daggers, brass knuckles, nunchucks and other martial arts weapons)
  • Brandishing a firearm (displaying or waving around a firearm)
  • Discharging a firearm
  • Selling a firearm (unlawful sale)
  • Using a deadly weapon in the commission of a crime (assault, robbery, drug offenses)

Penalties for Orange County Weapons Offenses

There are a variety of factors that could impact whether your charge is prosecuted as a misdemeanor or felony including: will be the type of weapon involved, the action taken with the weapon, whether the weapon was concealed or loaded, and whether you have any prior criminal offenses on your record. Misdemeanor weapons charges are punishable by up to 1 year in the county prison in addition to possible fines of up to $1,000.Felony weapons charges are punishable by 1 to 20 years in California prison.

Sentencing Enhancements for Weapons Crimes

California is known for its “use a gun and you’re done” law which means years could be added to a prison sentence if a gun was used in the commission of a felony crime.

  • Brandishing a firearm during the crime: +10 years
  • Firing gun: +20 years
  • Killing or injuring someone with gun: 25 years to life

Strategies For Defending a Weapons Charge

  • Self-defense or defense of others: If you honestly and reasonably believed that you or someone else was in imminent danger of being injured or killed and used a weapon to defend yourself, you can claim self-defense.
  • Improper search and seizure of weapons: Weapons charges can be defeated if law enforcement did not have probable cause or a warrant to search your person, vehicle, or home. An unlawful search is considered a violation of your fourth amendment rights and any evidence gathered during the investigation would be considered inadmissible in court.
  • Accidental firing of a weapon: If you had no criminal intent to fire a weapon and were not acting negligently, you may be able to state that the incident was an accident.
  • Non-ownership of a weapon in possession: If you had no knowledge that the weapon was located on your person or in your vehicle, a prosecutor can’t prove you were in actual possession.
  • Police misconduct or entrapment: commit a crime that the individual would likely not have decided to commit on her own