Theft Charges In California
Did you know that theft charges are some of the most likely to cause problems on your record? Employers who make a note of theft allegations on your record might not feel comfortable hiring you, regardless of how long ago the charge was put there from your conviction.
What Should I Do Next?
Being accused of petit theft in the state of California is a serious matter, and it is one that should not be overlooked. Make sure that you retain a criminal defense attorney immediately to begin to chart a way forward to protect yourself. Without the support of a knowledgeable defense attorney, you could find yourself facing significant consequences and problems. Petit theft is defined in California as the theft of property with a value of $950 or less.
Many of these petit theft charges come across as misdemeanors and petit theft will be classified as a misdemeanor if the offender has no prior criminal record, if the theft is a result of shoplifting or if the value of the property is less than $950. This sentence could carry up to 6 months in county jail, a fine of no more than $1000 or both.
What’s New in Petit Theft Consequences?
However, Proposition 47 was passed in November 2014 which has implications for petit theft with a prior conviction. The number of people who could be charged with wobbler crimes, meaning possible elevation to a felony from a misdemeanor, was narrowed under Prop 47.
If the defendant had at least one prior petit theft or theft related conviction and had been imprisoned as a result and has previous conviction for a violent or serious offense, any sex charge or for embezzlement, the defendants could have their charges elevated to the felony level. However, all other defendants must be charged with misdemeanors. Understanding the implications of protecting yourself after being accused of such a crime means that you need to get help from an experienced attorney immediately. Talk to a Criminal Defense lawyer who is familiar with the ins and outs of theft charges.